Jobs and experience conundrum

Mesmerized by the thought of working with AI algorithms, I went for an interview for a position at my old company.

The position could have helped me learn a bit about machine learning,  the AI book I’m working through had a lot of algorithms that I was itching to try out somewhere.

Turns out my lack of exposure to some of the tools they use to write the applications was so pronounced that there was no chance of getting my feet wet into the field.

The icing on the cake was when the interviewer found out I used to work in the same company earlier.  Questions were asked on the matter and my success rate dropped drastically .

I got the feeling that there isn’t much respect for people who used to work there.

It’s always the exotic breed of people from other organisations that are valued.  May be this is true everywhere, I don’t know.
I may not have been a fit for the role anyway.

That aside, how do people break into a field anyway.   What’s this magic salt that helps one have a right match to a job profile, when nobody wants to organically home-grow talent ?

Does the value of a person go up proportional to the number of times he has abandoned ship ?  It seems that way doesn’t it,  if x trains a resource and he get sufficiently qualified working there.

Then, the way of the world seems to be to get a better offer elsewhere and contribute to the new organisation. And the market supports this by valuing that person more.   This seems a bit archaic.

Maybe I always knew one’s loyalty should be placed on ones profession rather than on the organisation.

Should start rolling this way then.

Leave a Reply

