C# programs on Linux

The dire need of the curriculum forced me to write C# programs.

With great heartache I jumped onto windows to write and test those programs.

Being a interoperability lover myself, I looked around for something that will run my Helloworld.cs program on linux.

My search turned out good for I found the Mono Project.

http://www.mono-project.com/Main_Page

“Mono provides the necessary software to develop and run .NET client and server applications on Linux, Solaris, Mac OS X, Windows, and Unix.”

How I did it:

After the usual rpm -ivh

I opened up a terminal and typed these commands

$mcs Helloworld.cs

$mono Helloworld.exe

and thats it, I have compiled and run my very own Helloworld.cs in my OpenSuSE.

more info down the man pages.

Good bye windows!

For geeks with the need for graphics there is

Gtk#

google for it.

Leave a Reply

